SLA AGM 2019

Moot Court Final 2019

The Southern Law Association AGM was held on Tuesday last at the Clayton Hotel, Cork City, where the large attendance included not only local colleagues but also the Law Society’s Director General Ken Murphy, immediate past president Patrick Dorgan and the new President Michele O’Boyle.

The meeting listened intently to Richard Hammond’s Presidential report before handing over the presidency to Robert Baker.

Richard Hammond thanked both the SLA Council and the SLA Members for giving him the opportunity to serve as President, which he said was “the honour of his career”. He then presented a newly commissioned “travel” chain of office to both the incoming President Robert Baker, and incoming Vice President Juli Rea, both of which had been specially commissioned for the holders of those offices, and consist of a replica pendant of the SLA Logo suspended on a red ribbon. 

Richard Hammond handing over the chain of office to incoming president Robert Baker

Robert Baker is now the President of the Southern Law Association for a one year term. In his address to the meeting, he reminded those present of the substantial contribution made by SLA and Law Society Council members to the betterment of the profession at large, all done on a voluntary basis. He specifically outlined to the meeting, in glowing terms, the enormous contribution to the profession made by Richard Hammond, not only during his term as SLA President, but at all times, via his educational work with the Law Society, his chairmanship of several Law Society Committees and his highly respected contributions to the Law Society Council meetings, which were “always well considered and superbly articulated”.

Back L-R: Dermot Kelly, John Fuller, William Harvey, Kieran Moran, Fiona Twomey, Barry Kelleher, Don Murphy, Brendan Cunningham, Bill Holohan
Front L-R: Elaine O’Sullivan, Sean Durcan, Treasurer, Emma Meagher Neville, PRO, Catherine O’Callaghan, Hon Sec., Richard Hammond, Robert Baker, President, Juli Rea, Vice President, Gerry O’Flynn, Joan Byrne